Renaissance art

Visual arts, music, poetry and other forms of art.
Heith

Renaissance art

Post by Heith »

I was certain we already had this topic, but no! Alas, this is to all things Renaissance!

Lately I've been digging more into the Renaissance art era, in various countries, although most my eye is mostly focused to Italy, England and Netherlands. Perhaps some of my ponderings can be beneficial to others interested of the subject, and I would hope to benefit from your thoughts and ideas. It is, after all, such a massively long period of time, which produced such an amount of high culture that is difficult to understand.

As an artist, I applaud the Renaissance period's beneficial effect towards the recognition of my own profession. Before that artists were not respected, and they were considered only craftspeople. Painters were paid for frescoes by the metre, quite literally. I'm sure I've said that before. It's important though.

There are a numerous things which seem beneficial and worth looking into in the Renaissance art period. It quite literally feels like every page in a book on Renaissance art is a pearl waiting to be discovered. In every gesture, position, symbol of these paintings there is a meaning; a secret language runs through them. Although partially lost forever, it can mostly still be re-ropened, studied and understood. (And no, I have not read DaVinci code, nor do I intend to)