Adoration of Suffering

Rational discussions on metaphysical and abstract topics.
Nefastos

Adoration of Suffering

Post by Nefastos »

I would like to talk a bit about adoration of suffering, the positive and negative sides of attitudes that might be labeled as masochistic, in religious & occult contexts.

Reason: This thing seems to emerge every now & then in the occult work, and I see it as very problematic. Personally I see it as an act of astral intoxication & mistaken fanaticism.

The topic came to my mind again yesterday, when I read Kierkegaard's "Gospel of Suffering" (Lidelsernes evangelium, 1848). I became quite familiar with these kinds of texts when I studied Christian literature in the 90s, and this brought to my memory some very negative paths that I had to purify with much hard work.

This, one's attitude towards suffering, is also one of the most common turning points from Christianity (or similar Right Hand Path religion) to Satanism. When one starts to worship anguish & overstress the elevating aspects of pain & grief, it can be seen that one has been shifting from the light side of religions to some very murky waters – or possibly, transcendental philosophical spheres... Satan is the ruler of both, and the destinction is not often very clear in one's psyche.

How do you feel about the spiritual side, possibilities & problems of suffering?
Faust: "Lo contempla. / Ei muove in tortuosa spire / e s'avvicina lento alla nostra volta. / Oh! se non erro, / orme di foco imprime al suol!"
Kenazis

Re: Adoration of Suffering

Post by Kenazis »

Nefastos wrote:How do you feel about the spiritual side, possibilities & problems of suffering?