Pacifism

Rational discussions on metaphysical and abstract topics.
Fomalhaut

Pacifism

Post by Fomalhaut »

I have been thinking a lot about Pacifism lately. What are your thoughts about it?

I have been interviewed by a person for her bachelor's thesis and during out conversation she reminded me the verse from Luke "And to him who strikes you on your cheek, offer the other, and from whoever takes away your cloak, withhold not your coat also.”

When I take this verse literally, I see two-ways violent action. One for the person who is turning his other cheek when he is hit and additionally for the person who hits him- this effects his whole karma. So I do not see this as pacifism. I am not a bible expert and there might be a symbolism behind the verse but this is my simple approach to it.

For me, pacifism is simply about taking the right action.
"I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become."
— C.G. Jung
Nefastos

Re: Pacifism

Post by Nefastos »

The talk we had a couple of years ago in the Finnish forum (here) made me realize more fully than before that pacifism as a form of quite extreme idealism is an esoterical practice. This makes sense considering the passage you cited, & how Tolstoy & Ervast saw that it was the Nazarene's pacifism precisely that made the crucial (no pun intended) point in his esoterical school.

For if we think pacifism as an element in the world, it quickly starts to see as utopistic by most people. The trick is, we use non-idealistic, hence non-esoteric logic in that. To be an idealist is to believe that there are things that have their effective power regardless of how the outcome first may seem. For example, thinking that not raising arms against invaders will give us best results in the long run even though the immediate results of our (non-)action will be painful & humiliating.